Well, I started out rough.

Jul 19, 2010
Hey everyone, this is my first time posting here, and I hope it wont make everyone think I'm a complete moron (although I was when I first started out keeping my tank.)

Anyway, I have a 10 gallon tank, that has been going for about 5 months now. 7.6 PH, and fully cycled. When I first started the tank up, I will admit I did it somewhat irresponsibly and without much research. I lost several fish in my cycling process, and didn't properly check online to find suitable tank mates for the fish I selected. I made terrible beginner mistakes, including overfeeding which led to a bad ammonia spike.

After I realized how much information there really was available, I made the necessary adjustments and now the tank looks great... the only problem Is I have a very strange combination of fish.

1 Male fancy guppy
1 Female cherry barb
1 Female Betta
1 Bamboo shrimp.

I know its pretty bad, but all the fish are thriving, dont bother each other and seem livly and happy. My question is, if I were to add another small fish into the mix sometime in the future, what would be a good recommendation? I dont wan't anything that will kill the shrimp or nip at the guppys fins, or become a victim to the cherry barb. I dont want to overstock the tank, so I dont want to add a schooling fish like tetras.

Is there any small guy that would be happy without having several more of the same species present? Ill post some pictures soon.

bassbonediva

Superstar Fish
Oct 15, 2009
Northern Arizona