New Planted tank

Jul 25, 2010
First off I am very excited to be a part of your online community.
I am not sure if this is the correct forum to be posting this thread but here we go.

I have been keeping fresh water fish for three years now, I currently because of work don’t have a tank up and going. Fish I have kept in the past range from tetras to a red belly pacu. I have also had mixed results with a planted tank. All of the tanks I have had in the past have been very spontaneous, they have not been thought out before hand. By not planning everything out in advance I have made many mistakes and would like to avoid this for my next tank.
For my next tank I would like to have a planted tank. I want for this tank to be vibrant lots and lots of plants. I however do not know how to achieve this goal. My goal for this thread is to gain more knowledge and insight into keeping plants in an aquarium.
With the advent of Craigs List I have acquired a lot of equipment. I have a 5o gallon tank (36 7/8 x 19 x 19 5/8) with a stand that will be the foundation of this project. I also have an Eheim ECCO 2236 canister filter, as well as another canister filter that I am not sure of the brand.
I have the ability to build a hood.
Now for the part I need your help with.
What type of substrate should I use?
Is a CO2 System needed and if so what type?
Lighting?
pH control?
Filtration, I would like to use the equipment I have but don’t have to?
Plants; what type, how many, where do I get them?
What are the ideal tank parameters?
I am sure that I will have more questions as I get deeper into this project but for now that is all.
These are some things to keep in mind.
I would like for the system to be silent, or have as little noise as possible.
I would like for the system to be relatively low maintenance.

bassbonediva

Superstar Fish
Oct 15, 2009
Northern Arizona