16 Gallon Question

achase

Large Fish
Feb 1, 2010
British Columbia, Canada
What I was wondering about is.......would be ok to add anymore fish to my tank? Possibly get a centerpiece fish since all I have is tetra's (who I love). Currently I only have 2 kuhli's but I'm planning to get more because I know they like groups of 5 or more (I will get 3 more).

According to aqadvisor my current tank status is:
Your aquarium filtration capacity for above selected species is 198%.
Your aquarium stocking level is 84%.
Adding 3 more kuhli's will bump the stocking level up to 104% and the filtration capacity to 140%....which I assume isn't the best.

What are your thoughts????

lauraf

Superstar Fish
Jan 1, 2010
Vancouver, British Columbia
You're not a total newb, so I think you would be safe to include one centrepiece fish - like a dwarf gourami. Just keep on top of your water changes, and test the water to make sure your nitrates aren't getting out of control without you realizing it . . . . Adding more live plants will help as well, not just for water quality.

lauraf

Superstar Fish
Jan 1, 2010
Oh, I didn't mean that in any way insulting, achase. I just wouldn't tell someone who didn't have some experience - and common sense - to go ahead and overstock, even if I do think AqAdvisor is a bit over-cautious.
You could do a male ram too, or a swordtail, or a honey gourami . . . you've got a number of options. Even a couple of purdy male guppies . . . .

misterking

Superstar Fish
Aug 12, 2008
Manchester, UK
www.facebook.com
I'm not sure I'd do a swordtail, they much prefer the company of their own kind to work as a centrepiece.