Time between water changes?

fishwish34

Medium Fish
Jun 27, 2010
I was just wondering how often everyone does water changes, and how much water they change. From what I've read, once a week is ideal. What is the MAXIMUM amount of time you would let your tank go without a water change? I try to change 4 out of 20 gallons once a week, but that doesn't always happen...just wanted to get an idea of when I should really panic.

Newman

Elite Fish
Sep 22, 2009
Northern NJ
I've left my tanks w/o an actual water change for a long time and i dont advise and wont even mention the periods of time. I do water changes on my 40 gallon every week (recently got back on track since i went back to caring for my plants) and I change out 5 gallons in a single water change.

aakaakaak

Superstar Fish
Sep 9, 2010
Chesapeake, Virginia
I'm still fairly new to fishkeeping and probably more religious about water changes than most. I probably do water changes on my 29 and 10 just about twice a week. The 10 I'm doing about 1 1/2 to 3 gallons and the 29 I'm probably changing about 9.

brian1973

Superstar Fish
Jan 20, 2008
Corpus Christi, Texas
I occasionally have to go out of town for a few weeks at a time, my wife wont do water changes unless she has to, so I normally change the water (50%) the day before I leave, then a day or 2 after i get back. I typically do 50% every week or 2, I have heavily stocked tanks and almost never have any issues with water quality. Ideally you should change your water once a week, the amount is more of a personal preference but 20% is typically the minimum I have seen recommended.

Feb 27, 2009
I was just wondering how often everyone does water changes, and how much water they change. From what I've read, once a week is ideal. What is the MAXIMUM amount of time you would let your tank go without a water change? I try to change 4 out of 20 gallons once a week, but that doesn't always happen...just wanted to get an idea of when I should really panic.