Lost 5 Danios, Could it be a diseased tank?

Jdee

Small Fish
Jan 6, 2011
Hi All,

Like a lot, im new to the fish scene, I seen a aquarium kit in ALDI for £50 and thought id give it a go.

Since buying it 2 months ago I have put over £250 into getting it ready.

So, I setup, using sand, get the temp right and im using real plants and a moss ball. Had it setup for 4 days and bought 5 Danio's, these are good starters I heard.

After 4 days I got home from work and one of them had been sucked into the filter and obv died but at the same time wrecked the filter so I bought a £35 one from pets@home.

I went to see about getting some new fish from the best place near mine called Andy's Aquatics and they tested my water, pH was ok but Nitrate was sooooo high.

I came home with no fish but 2 new plants.

While putting the new plants in I disturbed the sand and it misted up for about 10 mins. Since that point and now all my Danios have died.

Im gutted because I really wanted this to be good but its put me back.

Could my tank be diseased or is it the nitrate? How to bring it down or is it because of the new filter?

Also, is around 15 flakes two to three a day tooo much to feed 5 Danios?

Thanks for having me :)

Joe:confused:

aakaakaak

Superstar Fish
Sep 9, 2010
Chesapeake, Virginia
It sounds like you overfed your fish and got nuked by nitrates. A fish's stomach is about the size of its eye. Feed accordingly.

Are you familiar with the nitrogen cycle?
Do you own your own liquid test kit?
Do you do regular water changes?
If you do water changes do you add anything to the new water?
Did you wash your sand prior to putting it in the tank?

I'm sorry about your little fishies. Hopefully we can get everything straigtened out so this doesn't happen next time. ;)

bassbonediva

Superstar Fish
Oct 15, 2009
Northern Arizona