Ammonia, Nitrite, and Nitrate

MarkSD

New Fish
Jan 11, 2011
Rapid City, SD
Hello Guys, I am new to the hobby and was hoping for suggestions. I have been researching tons over the last week or two. I bought a 38 gallon tank from a guy and it was sitting for 5 months empty. I was told at the pet store to buy API Stress ZYME and Stress COAT and put that in the water for 2 weeks according to the bottle. This was all before I was informed by all my reading online to not buy this stuff. Anyway I read more about adding ammonia source and such to get the cycle going so I search all over and found some ammonia. Now I started about 2 weeks ago with the API stuff from the pet store and new water etc. No fish. About about 4 or 5 days after that I had done more reading about the ammonia source and added ammonia to the tank but first tried to figure out the number of ml of ammonia per gallon of water to give me about 5ppm, well something wasn't and it ended up being more than planned. It was dark dark green on the API chart for the ammonia test. After a few days like that and the water got cloudy(might of been from a not cleaned carbon filter - new one), anyway I decided to change out some water to bring down the ammonia level closer to 5ppm. I changed out about 40% and I still have high ammonia levels but I think they are under 8ppm but maybe closer to 4 ppm. Water change was last week sometime. Been checking the levels about everyday since and ammonia has stayed the same pretty much. I am kind of wanting some advice on what to do now? I also added some more stress zyme on the 7th day. I checked today and I have ammonia still high, nitrites at 0 and nitrates at 0, PH I think it high, had to use the high PH test and it still didn't match quite right. I then tested the tap water PH and it was 7.6. So I am wondering what made the water PH a lot higher, also what to do next? Hoping something can help me out.