New to fish keeping and need some help/advice

May 5, 2012
NC
Hi,
I'm a newbie like the title reads, but I seem to be having problems with my tank.
The tank is about 2 months now and it has just recently become white cloudy. I read to feed them less which I have been and water change, which I do anyways to keep cleaner water. Also, I have a test kit and my nitrates seem to be very high. I've only had one casualty, which is better than most, but it's still sad when even one dies.

I have in my 10G tank:
1 chinese algae eater
3 platys
5 bloodfin tetra
5 blackskirt tetra

I've read up on what to do and have been doing water changes, feeding less, vacuuming the gravel, making sure my filter is cleaned, and testing my tap. I don't now if this is normal and I just need to let the cycle catch up or do something to help alleviate the levels. Also, one of my platys is staying near the top of my tank in a corner :( what is wrong with him? stressed?

please help
thanks

Thyra

Superstar Fish
Jun 2, 2010
Yelm, WA
Welcome to the forum! In order to help we will need to know your exact readings for ammonia, nitrite and nitrate. We don't know without you giving us a number for your nitrates what "very high" means. Also you shouldn't be cleaning your filter - that is one of the places the beneficial bacteria will grow. What temp are you keeping the tank at? If your tank is too warm, the oxygen will be decreased and that could make the fish go to the surface. I noticed the tank is in front of the window and that is not a good idea unless you can put a barrier there - depending on the climate where you live and the amount of sun on the window, although almost any amount of light from outside will promote algae growth.

May 5, 2012
NC