Jd problems and mbuna question.

Jul 16, 2012
PA
First post ever! Female jd is bigger than the male jd and at first he was chasing her, but now she terrorizes him and keeps him in the corner. Also, I am new to the mbuna's and I would like to add 3 kuhli loaches or am I stocked?

KcMopar

Superstar Fish
Add more hiding spots and change the arrangement of the tank to change territory lines. Also make hiding spots so they cant see each other very easily. Cichlids fight and you will never stop that, as long as they are not stressing each other in to being sick or making heavy wounds like more then missing scales then you might have to separate. Most fights are due to territory though and are easily solved by arranging the tank until they are happy.
I have tons of Africans but I have never tried to keep anything with them beside native species due to the fact I replicate the water they come from which is like sea water with out the salinity. As far as the stocking goes you are right at the edge, if you are doing weekly water changes you might get away with 2-3 more smaller fish. 9-12 small/medium Africans in a 55G is ok if maintained well. I make huge changes in my 75G African tank, to the tune of well over 75%.

Last edited:
Jul 16, 2012
PA
All three of my tanks are natural environment friendly...three different substrates! I like the sand best. I do a 25-50% water change every week, and I've been changing the decor everyone (except for the enormous driftwood in the middle!), but it's not working. My sister-in-law is cycling her 46 hex right now. She got it out after years. I might be able to give her the female and borrow it later if we want to breed them in my extra tank. So, no to the Loach with the Africans? How about with the gouramis? I am moving them into a 40 next week. Thank you!

Jul 16, 2012
PA