45 gallon setup

lov3rman

Small Fish
Dec 31, 2012
hi everyone im paul,ive been given a 45 gallon tank,fluvall 3 pump,air pump and a heater and 34 fish,ive filled tank with water added aqua safe left put heater on and filter and left it for 3 days and gradually added fish,ive checked ammonia nitrate and nitride levels and they are spot on..am i doing it right as im new to fish keeping..fish are 2 clown loaches,2 kissing guomies,red fin shark,blue guomie,various small school fish,ie zebra danios,neon tetras.water temp is 78 degrees,

FishDad

Superstar Fish
Mar 4, 2012
Cleveland
I think your going to have an ammonia spike. Thats a lot of fish to add to an uncycled tank. Aquasafe probably just masks the ammonia temporarily but it will ware off. Just keep doing water changes until the cycle is done.

CAPSLOCK

Elite Fish
Jul 19, 2004
Cape Cod
You've got test kits so you're ahead of the game for a lot of new aquarists. At this point, keep a close eye on the ammonia and nitrite levels, and if they start to rise be prepared to change out a good portion of the water with fresh dechlorinated water. Was it a currently running tank when you got it? If it was currently running and you just moved it and set it back up, you should have a minimal cycle, whereas if it was a brand new setup (or was completely dried out in between uses) your cycle may be just at the beginning and you will likely see the ammonia start to rise since you've got quite a few fish in it for a new tank.

Some of those guys are going to get big for that tank, so keep that in mind (kissing gouramis, clown loaches).

lov3rman

Small Fish
Dec 31, 2012
thanks fishdad,i will keep a lookout for ammonia spike,ive been given a bottle of cycle and nitrate minus and a general tonic for the fish,are they any good?.

CAPSLOCK

Elite Fish
Jul 19, 2004
Cape Cod