Tropical Fish Questions

Jan 15, 2013
Hi!
I am starting a tank of tropical fish soon, and I had just a few questions. I've had fish before, but only goldfish and 1 Betta, so I'm not experienced with community tanks.
First, how many fish can I put in a 37 gallon tank? I've adopted the rule of 1 gallon of water per inch of fish and have calculated the maximum size of the fish I want. I came up with:
-3 upside-down catfish (max 4 in)
-1 Silver Hatchetfish (max 3 in)
-2 Dwarf Gourami (max 2 in)
-5 Neon Tetras (max 2 in)
-3 Mystery Snails (max 2 in)
All told this comes to 35 inches.
Are these too many fish for a 37 gallon?
Secondly, how often/how much should I feed them? Some of these fish are vegetarians, some are omnivores, and some are carnivores. I was thinking about purchasing a 'Freshwater Multipack' (frozen food mix), some frozen beef heart, some algae wafers, and some flakes. How often should I feed these foods?
Thank you so much for your help!

CAPSLOCK

Elite Fish
Jul 19, 2004
Cape Cod
That's a pretty good list - keep in mind that "1 inch per gallon" is a pretty rough guideline. But you have a compatible looking list and have all the "levels" of the tank occupied pretty evenly.

Most catfish are scavengers, so once those guys get large it is possible they would eat a tetra that is ill / elderly and easy prey. But a healthy tetra should be fine with them long term. I had a pair of upside-down catfish, one got to about 6" the other stayed at 4". Since you don't have them yet, if you have a good store near you or one that can special order, I highly recommend hoplo catfish (also called armored catfish sometimes). These guys are related to the commonly seen cory cats but get bigger (4-5") and are very peaceful with a nice personality - not shy at all. I had 3-4 of these guys and just loved them.