yes...another freshwater algae question

Aquazilla

Small Fish
Jul 26, 2011
Ive set this new tank up for my daughter and am curious as to what this stuff is.... Its gotten tremendously worse since I took this pic a few days ago.

I also have a weird slimy film at the top of my water, fish seem to be doing just fine, however this tank looks gross

Lighting: Finnex Ray II Ultra Slim LED DS - Dual 7000k
Time: 8hrs a day

filtration: zoomed canister filter

100MEDIA_IMAG0074.jpg 100MEDIA_IMAG0076.jpg 100MEDIA_IMAG0077.jpg 100MEDIA_IMAG0078.jpg

Feb 18, 2013
Check your Nitrites, for algae to grow it has to have nitrates, and lots of light. The first pics look like algae , the second looks like some sort of mold or fungus, but i'm new to plants.

Is the wood new to being in the water ? If so it might not have been completely dry, molds feed off sugars, so there might have been some sap that's still in it. It's usually harmless, most algae eaters will munch on it, as well as most shrimp.

Feb 27, 2009
Ive set this new tank up for my daughter and am curious as to what this stuff is.... Its gotten tremendously worse since I took this pic a few days ago.

I also have a weird slimy film at the top of my water, fish seem to be doing just fine, however this tank looks gross

Lighting: Finnex Ray II Ultra Slim LED DS - Dual 7000k
Time: 8hrs a day

filtration: zoomed canister filter

View attachment 11719 View attachment 11720 View attachment 11721 View attachment 11722
This is part of 'new tank syndrome,' Aquazilla, and water changes are going to be the only cure to this. Was the tank cycled, or are you doing a fish-in cycle?

The wood looks very new, and as others have stated, likely is a mold. Time and water changes will also cure this. Wood that is new to being submerged often develops this for sometimes months. Fish seem to eat it, and while doing water changes, you can easily siphon off the buildup.