6 Gallon Help

Bryon

Large Fish
Mar 22, 2007
Michigan
First let me say hello to everybody because I'm new here and give you a little intro. My names is Bryon and I'm a student at Michigan and I've been keeping tropical fish for a few years and have had many many tanks.

Now on to my question.

Being in a dorm room I'd like to have a tank here but only have room for a 6 gallon, so I bought one. I've kept "mini-tanks" before and had pretty good luck with them. I've started cycling this tank and it is densely planted with a tree-root cave as well as stacked rock cave. It has 10 gallon in tank whisper filtration as well as a heater to keep the temp constant.

Now I've kept dwarf puffers, Betta's, Sharks, paradise fish, glowlites, black neons, rosy reds, white clouds, cory cats, guppies and dwarf frogs and I would like something new in this tank.

Now My current stocking that I want to do is as follows:
5 Neon Tetras
1 Red Honey Gourami OR Dwarf Flame Gourami
1 Gold Mystery Snail

I've never had any dwarf gouramis or honey gouramis nor have I had neons.
I've read on many sites that neons are hardy if put in a cycled tank, however, I've also read that neons aren't hardy at all. I've read the same thing about dwarf gouramis.

What is people experience with these fish. Are they hardy? How would you recommend I add these fish I.E. Neons first or Gourami first? which would be better, the honey gourami or dwarf gourami? Lastly is this a dyed forum of gourami or is this how they come?

Thanks in advance for the help everyone. I hope this stay here is a good one :)

Last edited:

Fuzz16

Superstar Fish
Oct 20, 2006
Wellsville, KS
neons are so inbred nowadays they have lost thier hardiness
people can can through a lot of them before they get some living.

the gourami is bred to be that color, so not dyed. and i think that 5 neons, a dwarf gourami, and a myster snail will be overcrowded for a 6g

welcome to the fourm

Bryon

Large Fish
Mar 22, 2007
Michigan
Fuzz16 said: