Aggressive Tetra, HELP!

Jan 26, 2009
Newark DE
www.myspace.com
Hi! I'm a college student, and I've only got a measley 2.5 gallon tank, with what I guess was a really bad mix. I've got 1 silver tip tetra and 1 zebra danio. Now before anybody gets angry, the day I bought my fish nobody told me they're supposed to be in schools! So I made a huge mistake, but now the tetra is attacking the danio and I haven't the slightest idea of what to do. I've put in ornaments that are large enough for a fish 4 times the size of the danio to hide, but it doesn't seem to help. Any insight would be SO wonderful. Thanks!
-Freshie

Jun 21, 2008
Freshie - Ignore mistercoffee. He's joking.
Coffee - Behave :)
Freshie - I would return the two that you have and get a betta instead. They're pretty perfect for a tank that size, which is not big enough to allow a school of anything. You could do a couple shrimp instead, or maybe in addition to the betta. (I've never had shrimp, so I'm not sure) Your options are limited with that size, but your current setup probably won't work very well.

Jun 21, 2008
They should take them back, especially if you just return them and don't try to get your $3 back. Otherwise, you're probably just going to have 2 unhappy fish, and in a space that small, it's possible the tetra will just nip/stress the danio to death. I don't know that he will, but they are often nippy, and with the major space issues going on it might not end well.

Monoxide

Large Fish
Dec 19, 2008
Take it all back. Read this site and others.. Get to know the basics of fish atleast. Then get a bigger tank and become part of the community here!*thumbsups

LadyLail

Large Fish
Dec 31, 2008
NC
www.myspace.com
All you need to do is add like 2-3 common pleco's to the tank to clean up and they should be fine.
L-O-FREAKIN-L!!! Mr Coffee, that's talk for the lounge not for beginners. Funny none the less... *BOUNCINGS