Beginner - My Tank Is Nearly Complete (?)

Hey There,
I checked my tank this evening and my nitrate levels are 0. (yey!).. yet my ammonia levels are still 0.25. I haven't gotten around to adding any pure ammonia (or whatever) because i couldn't find anyone, and i was going for a fishless cycle. My PH levels are also off the chart (now), they weren't before, they seem to have gone up...
hmmm...

your not even close to done... you want nitrates, that means you bacteria converting ammonia to nitrite to nitrates.... and how are you even cycling the tank without pure ammonia? are you still using that fish food? trust me, you aren't done yet and wont be for a while if you dont get some ammonia. I've never used fish food to cycle a tank but in theory it doesn't put much ammonia into the water which doesn't get the bacteria going too quickly. I could be wrong cause i'm not too good at the cycling problems so correct me if i'm wrong :). Oh and the pH flucuations are probably cause of the pH buffer you added recently but there are too many factors to really give you a good answer.

Last edited:
I thought we already had a big discussion about this... you could add the fish to do a fish in cycle or a fishless cycle. Either way works but fish in takes longer but you can't add too many fish at once and fishless just means you need to wait about 2 to 3 weeks but once you waited that long you can add everything you want (just not go overstocked). In my opinion the fishless is a way better way to go, you get all your fish quicker and they will be healthier with a strong biofilter instead of a weak biofilter which is the result of a fish in cycle. After your fish in cycle is done it still has to continue to build up and if you add too many fish in at once to a weak biofilter you could get ammonia spikes which could kill fish. So your decision on which way you wanna go.

Last edited: