Beginner with question - Tetras.

This is probably a really stupid question, but here is goes.
I'm a complete newbie and have recently decided tetras are what i'll start with (long story, read more of my posts and you'll get an idea!). Anyway! Do they need heating in their tanks? I know sooo stupid! I've done research on ALL the tetras i like, all on different websites, and only on some of the websites does it say that particular tetra needs heating, so does it apply to all? If any of you are tetra owners (or professionals!) could you recommend a type of heater? Thank you! x

Last edited:
Jan 16, 2004
Syracuse, NY
Ive found the Ebo Jägers to be a good sturdy heater. Actually, my house doesnt usually get that cool, and I actually dont have a heater in my 30 gallon right now. Tetras are hardy fish, mine have survived in a cooler with a filter for several weeks. I have one just in case though but the water and fish are fine without it.

But Id get one just to be safe.

lordroad

Large Fish
Sep 2, 2004
Shelby, NC
www.joshday.com
With your 8 gallon (right?), tetras would be a fine choice. Some of the smaller tetras I've had are...

Neon tetras
Cardinal tetras
Glowlight tetras
Black neon tetras
Black skirt tetras

Neon tetras are a good choice. They are cheap, easily available, and pretty hardy, once the tank is ready and cycled. For your eight gallon, if you're looking to do a tetra-only tank, do you want to mix species or just pick one for a school? They probably won't school much in a smaller tank, but they will definitely swim about together.

Other than a heater, and your filter, you should be good to go with your tank. Weren't you planning on adding live plants? This will make it even better. Both aesthetically, and for the fish's well-being, as plants consume nitrate.