Betta tankmates?

Sep 1, 2004
Abalammie
Visit site
Hi, guys! I'm just wondering if anyone knows whether (male) Bettas will coexist peacefully in a tank with an Oto? Also, any other fish that you know of who do well with Bettas? (Other than the little African frogs. I got that.)

Thanks! :)

Feb 10, 2006
Bay Area, CA
This question has been asked quite a few times on MFT. And although, I have little experience with bettas, I will just recite some of the information I read.

Bettas are fish with varied personalities. What may work with one, the other will create havoc. So it depends on how aggressive your betta is and how we he tolerates other fish being around. Maybe something else to consider would be tank size. With that being said, the rest is trial and error. Also recommended is having a "back-up" plan, in case the new fish don't work. Here are a few of the top of my head:

Zebra Danios
platies
Otos

Best of luck newfishmom.

FroggyFox

Forum Manager
May 16, 2003
Colorado
There really isn't a list of fish that do well with them. Rather more of a list of fish that WONT do well (guppies, gouramis, anything nippy or colorful with long fins)...and if you get some that work it may not work for other people.

I have an ember tetra in with my betta...but he's so small I dont even think the betta knows he's there ;) A fish that sticks to itself is the best kind to have with a betta...so ottos and other bottom feeders are usually fine with *most* bettas. The only bettas that wont work with bottom feeders are the ones that pretty much wont work with any fish because they are just MEAN and best kept alone.

Sep 1, 2004
Abalammie
Visit site
sounds great, thanks! I have an existing 10 g tank that housed lots of different schools of fish and an Oto that I'm going to just put a Betta in now (with the Oto). That should work, right? I mean Bettas pretty much live in the same water parameters as other tropical fish (e.g., tetras, rasboras, cories, etc.), right?