fish dying/ test strips and a couple other questions

brian1973

Superstar Fish
Jan 20, 2008
Corpus Christi, Texas
Hey all, I am rather new to fish keeping but i did alot of research before I set up 1 20gal and 1 30gal tank 7 months ago ,all well until a mass die off in the 30gal tank over the last couple weeks. The thing is that I test the water regularly with Junge labs 6 in 1 test strips.... but even with the mass fish die off everything tested fine by thse strips. Are the strips worth the money or should i just invest in a test kit. I wrote the company shortly after purchasing them because my kids accidently ruined the result comparison chart and i wanted a replacement chart but they said they didnt have one so they sent 3 test kits for free (20 strips in each i believe), thought that was cool but now it seems there product may just be cheap enough that they dont care about giving it away.

Also has anyone used Melafix antibiotics with any positive results. I am using it to treat the remaining fish that survide the mass die off, I tried another medicine that they have to consume but they wont eat it so I need something to treat the entire tank.

Also I noticed that when my smaller fish (3 month to 4 month old mollies) died they just dropped during the mass die off but the larger older fish focused on the heater (head facing the heater) and swam fast without moving (like running in place for us). Is it possible the heater is giving out small eletrical charges that I cant feel but affected the smaller fish very rapidly? But i tend to doubt this since the survivors are 8 young mollies ranging from 3/4 long to 1 1/2in long. Some of which are showing the fast swimming in place symptom. These fish all lived in the 30gal tank for 2 months with no ill effects. and the older fish had been there since august.

Cant find any real reason for the mass die off so i am at a loss.
Thanks in advance.

cchase85

Large Fish
Jun 6, 2006
New England