Help, what is this creature?!

Jan 18, 2010
Oxford England
Ok so I'm new to this saltwater tank stuff, I started with a tropical and after about 3 weeks visited a not so LFS and decided a saltwater was where I wanted to be. So a lot of money spent and a lot of changing around and I now have a saltwater tank set up, its about 29 Gallon with plenty of live rock, 2 clowns, a clean up crew and an arrow head crab.

All is generally going well except for a little brown algae which I'm in the process of trying to eliminate, however I have woken up this morning to find a HUGE GREAT BIG centipede type thing eating my blood shrimp!
Im a little miffed to say the least and freaked out, this creture was not nice looking and was coming from one of my live rocks. The part of it I could see was a good 5 inches long (the rest if it was still inside the rock) and was yellow/tan in colour, it was quite skinny and looked like it has lots and lots of little legs?

Does anybody know what it is? And did it kill my Shrimp? The shrimp looked to be in the middle of sheading its skin, part was already off and the rest was still attached to the shrimp but im sure the shrimp is dead, and like I said the worm type thing was all wrapped around it? As soon as I turned the lights on to get a better look the worm was fast as lightening and dissapeared back into the live rock. The shrimp is still not moving!?

Can any body help a complete novice with any advice about this creature and what to do with it??

Thanks

zoalover34

Superstar Fish
Jun 5, 2006
Kent, OH
It's probably a bristle worm of some sort, they normally don't kill livestock.. The shrimp was more than likely dead and the worm was just doing what they do.. It would be easier to ID it with a picture if you could get 1..

Jan 18, 2010
Oxford England
Yeah I thought it was probably a bristle worm but cannot find any pictures online that look anything like mine?