Is my tank cycled or not started? NEED HELP!

littlea8

Small Fish
Feb 28, 2009
Hello,

I am a beginner when it comes to saltwater tanks. I am trying to establish a fish only with live rock tank. I added my live rock about two weeks ago with live sand and started testing ammonia about 3-4 days after and had gotten no readings. The salinity was good and the tempurature was good as well. After about a week I tested both ammonia and nitrite and still got no readings. Finally after being fed up thinking the cycle didn't start I tested ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, and PH today (approx 2 weeks after adding the live rock and sand) and I got 0 levels of ammonia, 0 levels of nitrite, and small levels of about 5-10ppm of nitrate reading with a PH of 7.2. I am very confused at this point as to what i should be doing or where my tank is at in terms of the cycle. Could someone please help me as to what the further steps are and where my tank is at after 2 weeks of adding the live rock?

Lotus

Ultimate Fish
Aug 26, 2003
Southern California
home.earthlink.net
Welcome to the site :)

Was the live rock straight from a fish store's holding tanks? If it was, and you took it straight home and put it in the tank, it's possible your tank is already cycled.

Your pH is very low right now. Have you checked alkalinity?

Lorna

Elite Fish
Mar 3, 2005
NE Indiana
You don't say what your sg is either...what temps etc. It is possible as Lotus states it may have cycled with the live rock which may be providing enough bacteria for the minimal bioload. I woud suggest that you add a small amount of flake food and then measure your ammonia the next day, if you show nothing than chances are you are cycled. When adding any fish or inverts make sure you are prepared to do a water change should you see an ammonia spike, but my feeling is go slow with stocking, measure and make sure you don't see any spikes and allow your tank to adjust to the additional bioload slowly. Welcome to mft...

littlea8