Need advice on stocking a new 26 gallon tank

Mandy

Small Fish
Sep 3, 2009
New Jersey
Hi everyone -
Thanks for all the help with my fizzy water fiasco. Now I'm planning ahead for how to stock my new tank. I know I'm a long way off still and need to cycle this tank first, but I get excited to plan ahead and I love hearing everyone else's opinions on how to stock the tank. With that being said, it's a 26 gallon planted bowfront tank. Since I'm new to this hobby, I'm not sure what fish are needed for the tank, for example are oto's needed to clean the algea and cory's to keep the bottom looking nice? I really like the panda cory, golden white cloud minnow and the flame tetra's are neat looking. Any suggestions with one or more of those fish would be really cool...
So, can't wait to hear your suggestions -
Thanks again,
Mandy

Mandy

Small Fish
Sep 3, 2009
New Jersey
Hmm - that's a good question - I guess community fish. The cories are really neat looking. I believe I read somewhere that they should be kept in groups of 6, but that seems like a lot for my size tank. I wouldn't have much room left for anything else.

Sep 10, 2004
Texas
Visit site
I too have heard that cories should be kept in groups of at least six but I have had my two for the last five years (or more) and they do fine. As far as community fish go, I really like the dwarf gourami's. My favorite is the neon blue. Once you get your tank set up, post a pix so we can see it. BTW - my 30 gal tank consists of one red tail shark, one female blue betta, two glowlight tetras, two cories, one yellow fish and one orange fish. (I don't remember what kind the yellow and orange fish are and they had a baby.) Good luck. :)

Mandy

Small Fish
Sep 3, 2009
New Jersey
Thanks for the input Fishwhisperer...
What do you think of this idea?
4 panda cories = 10 in
2 flame dwarf gourami = 4 in
6 rummy nose tetra = 12 in