Need Help getting the correct medicine for ick

Apr 11, 2006
hi, I'm new to saltwater as well as this website. I just got my tank setup for about two week now and I am encountering alot of problems. The water seem murky, red alage keep on grow the rock, fish constantly have ick and seem like it cannot be cure by the ick medicine I bought from the store. Could anymore please help me.

My tank is 20 gallons
cure lives rocks and sand from established tank
light are turn on about 9-10, two filter penguin 150 and 200 runing at same time. I use cycle to help generate more bacteria inorder to help my tank mature faster. Feed my fish twice a day.
I have 1 small blue tang, 1 damsell, 1 raccon butteryfly(the size of three fingers combined), one yellow tang(same size as the butterfly), 1 black and white strip angelfish (little bit smaller than the buttery, very sick, cover with ick or ich, white little spots all around its body and fins rotton), and one koran angel.

All my fish are infected with ich or ick (whatever it is called) Can you professional guys point me to the right direction or step in curing my fishes. I really need your help. Thank you!!

wayne

Elite Fish
Oct 22, 2002
OK, where to begin, and not sound harsh.

Most importantly, most of the fish you have, in fact all exccept the damsel are totally unfit to be kept in a 20. In fact they will not do well in anything below a 75 gallon tank - the tangs, the angels and the butterfly all get big, are active fish, and are very demanding of water quality. Even if they didn't get ich, they would soon die in a small tank like this.