New Tank Syndrome???

eagles250

Small Fish
Oct 16, 2006
Hello,
Im new to all this so bear with me. I have a 10g tank, no live plants, and only 2 platies as starter fish. Im having a bit of trouble with my ammonia levels. I filled the tank and conditioned the water with Prime. after a week with just the water in the tank i added the two fish. during the 1st week w/ the fish in the tank i was using Stability. After about a week i went to the pet store to get new fish and have my water tested, they said the ammonia levels were to high to add fish just yet. levels were a little over 2 ppm. I added a bio-max amonia remover bag to the filer(at the suggestion of the fish store). went back a week later to have water tested again and the level didnt change. i was told to add Bio-spira and give it a few days(this was saturday). well, i just had my water tested again tonight and no signifigant change in amonia levels. i asked if i should do a water change he said no, that it would work against the bio-spira. so again he told me to wait a few more days. he seems to think its just a stubborn case of new tank syndrome. i think this is causing a problem with one of our fish. he just sits on the bottom in the corner of the tank and is breathing heavy. fins are not clamped and he is still eating(tho not as much as before). the other fish seems to be the picture of health tho. are these two things related? any help on this matter would be greatly appreciated!! i dont want to lose a fish!

Avalon

Superstar Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Ft. Worth, TX
www.davidressel.com