New to this site, and fish tanks in general~

Jul 7, 2006
Hello all, I am new to this site but it looks like it has a wealth of experienced people, so I'm glad I found it!

I am also new to fish tanks in general. I recently bought a 10 gallon tank (just for starters), and was wondering what are the steps needed to prepare a fish tank for fish.

I have done research, and sadly I found out that 10 gallon tanks are hardest to manage because they are so small, and the tiniest change affects everything so much. But I will get a bigger tank in due time, this is just a starter. Also I understand that there is only supposed to be 1 inch of fish per gallon, so I'm gonna get some tiny fish. *thumbsups

I just wanted to know the steps in preparing a fish tank for fish. What are the "drops" I should get to prepare the water? I've seen the chlorine drops.. but haven't seen others, I'm sure there are others for things like ammonia or other things...

Also for a 10 gallon tank, what kind of fish would you recommend? I am pretty sure it's best suited for a tropical fish only.

And last question, where is the best place to purchase fish? I've seen a few places that have fish, PetSmart, Petco, etc. I've even seen that Wal-Mart has fish. Would it be best to purchase fish from an actual pet store, such as Petco or Petsmart? (Should I even think about purchasing fish from Wal-Mart? :eek: )

Thanks all!

dax

Small Fish
Mar 27, 2006
Canada
I started out with a10 galon tank and it was not that hard to keep at all. I upgraded to 25 Gallons cause i wanted more fish.
I would say start out with any kind of Tetra. You could go with Neon, glowlights, glass etc. Thats what I started out with. These are schooling fish better kept in specimens of 5 or more.

You could also go with livebeares which are guppys, swordtails ets. Those are nice as well. It's up to you.