Newbie needs advices

Jellybaby

Small Fish
Jun 16, 2005
Montreal
I am thinking about starting a saltwater aquarium. I already have a cute little betta in a freshwater aquarium so I have some "experience". My questions are:

- I've seen a 10 gallons who look like a nano cube. It was very cheap (200$ Can for everything including live rocks and 2 clowns). Is 10 gallons enough for 2 clowns and a cleaner shrimp? I know the clown will survive but will they be happy or is their just too little space to swim?

- Some guy at a store told me I'd have to clean the aquarium every 2 days if I go with the 10 gallon. Is this true? I'll be having a cleaner shrimp and some snails so I'm wondering if they can do the job themselves. :)

- For 200$ more I can get a 20 gallons. I don't really want any more fishes to start so I'm wondering if I'll be wasting my money (I'm on a budget) or if it will make a lot of differences in my little fishs' lives (ie: will they truly be happy or will they laugh at me for spending money :) - I could have put my betta in a betta bowl but I think it's ridiculous that's why I got him a 3 gallon Betta condo).

Thanks in advance. :)

Melany

Jellybaby

Small Fish
Jun 16, 2005
Montreal
Well I've done lots of price research and 400$ CAN for a 20 gallons with everything (I mean fish, 20lbs live rock, 2 x power head etc) is the best deal I could come up with in montreal. If you can get me a better deal I'm all for it but the thread is more about questions to know if my fishies will be happy in a 10 gallon...

brit_s86

Large Fish
Mar 28, 2005
I t doesnt really help with your question,but im from alberta,and for my 29 gallon fresh water w/everything I paid 99.99.I have a new 50 gallon,ill be setting it up tomorrow,and I only paid 115.00 custom built.but im not sure of the costs of having a salt water tank.but if rock is not to expensve or the pumps,maybe its worth it to buy the tank seperat...?also I found 10 gallon tanks for 12.99.(tank only)

discus4everGrl