Rank beginner, few questions, (sorry for repeats)

Jul 13, 2009
Well, I'm a forum veteran - but, not this one - this is a first post to the "fishtank".

I've always admired fish, appreciate the serene nature of an aquarium and, so, recently acquired a 29 gallon unit. Last Wednesday, I set it up. All new stuff: gravel, artificial plant and nice bottom decorations. I filled with tap water, added treatment for chlorine reduction and a supplement that supposedly jump-starts the cycling.

I know this part is controversial, but today I added several tetras to help the cycling along. I'm hoping they'll not be too badly affected by either a low bacteria count or high ammonia level. (I'm monitoring and will adjust, if possible).

I do have a couple of basic questions - and O apologize if they've been answered dozens of times (searches were not entirely satisfying).

1) When adding water - or replacing, what is the best way to do this? Since the "new" water is from the tap, do you stage it in a separate container and add chemicals, or is it sufficient to let it simply stand for a few days?

2) Is a water temperature of between 80 and 82 OK?

3) How do you gauge the amount of food to be provided?

I have other questions, but thought I'd float a few important ones first. The others can wait.

I have to say that, even though well into middle age, I'm as thrilled with my new aquarium as with any possession I've acquired in a long time.

Thanks in advance for any help or input.

(And, yes, I've been doing a lot of reading).

Thanks again!

seastaar88

Superstar Fish
Feb 1, 2004
middletown, CT
Keep reading the stickies - lots of good info there.

I was just posting on another thread - I think people generally go both ways with the dechlor before or after adding water. I generally add dechlor after I've added water (after each bucket full I add).