stocking 55 gallon

tessalion

Large Fish
Jun 4, 2006
PA
I'm acquiring a 55 gallon in the next week and the following is my current idea for stocking....

6 zebra danios
5 neon tetras
5 serpae tetras
4 black neon tetras
3 columbian tetras
3 male guppies
2 mollies
2 african dwarf frogs
1-2 platys
1 otto
1 cherry barb

Obviously I won't put all of these in at once, this is long term design adding a few fish every few weeks (probably corresponding with paydays...). I was thinking of maybe starting with the zebras and then adding the black neons, platy(s) and frogs and going from there...most likely leaving the neons and oto for among the last.

Since im still new at this i thought id throw my ideas out there, this list is by no means formalized, and get all of your (much more informed and experienced) opinions on this. From what research ive done i think these will work together, but i could definitely be completely wrong.

If any of you have ideas for more fish that would work or if i should get more of a certain kind etc, feel free. The only comments i have on my likes/dislikes is that i love tetras and prefer smallerish fish (no bigger than 6in). The only exception to this is that I really like angels, however i figured an angel would be too aggressive for this tank. I also like white cloud minnows, but since theyre coldwater i assumed this tank would be too warm for them?

Last edited:

Pure

Elite Fish
Nov 1, 2005
Jacksonville, FL
Nothing makes tetras school better than a big ol angel in the tank.

Looks ok, a bit crowded for my tastes but should be ok. The only thing I would add is otos are social fish and need to be kept in groups of 3 or more.

FreshwaterJeff

Superstar Fish
Mar 28, 2006
Chicago, IL
That's an awful lot of fish that play similar roles in a community. It might be pretty neat, but it could also come out looking crowded and chaotic.