the ENDLESS tank cycle...

Oct 22, 2002
Hi All

I'm new to the tank cycling process and I'm a little worried that I may have goofed up the cycle. I have a 6 gallon "Eclipse" system (has a "wet-dry" bio-wheel), sand substrate, rocks, plastic plants, and one live plant. I added 3 zebra danios (before I read that fishless cycling is probably a better idea).

Anyway, I've been waiting waiting waiting...for 8 WEEKS now...Does this process normally take this long? The ammonia spiked, then went to 0 two weeks ago. The nitrites have been spiked near 10ppm for a week and a half...I was worried about the poor Danios (although they seem to be just fine), so I did two 20% water changes in the past few days. Did I set myself back by doing so? I just felt so bad about subjecting them to such poor water conditions...Is there anything else I should be doing, or do I just keep waiting? (PS: Nitrate levels were at 10ppm before the water change). Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks!

Matt Nace

Superstar Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Pennsylvania
Yes, it can take that long, even longer. Most people add filter media, or gravel from an established tank, to jump start the process.

Doing water changes can prolong it, but you have to with NitIte levels that high. Your fish could die from those levels.Anything above 3ppm is very bad.

I would do the water changes until the levels are reduced. DOnt feed your fish for 24 hours, and after that, feed very lightly. Only put a single small flake or 2 in, not letting any hit the bottom. When your danios get a few each. stop feeding. Once a day feedings.

Dont rinse your filter or any media. Leave that alone. Put your temp up to about 80 f.

Watch for disiese, and monitor the Ammonia, Nitite , and Nitrate levels daily. If the Nitite levels go above 3, you have to do a 25% water change. Use a water conditoner to remove ammonia, chlorine and chloramine to the new tap water.

Hope that helps, post back here with some updates.