38-gallon Amazon River themed aquarium

jalora

New Fish
May 4, 2007
Humboldt, CA
I've had fish tanks off and on for years; usually little 10 or 20 gallon set-ups with phlorescent rocks and goldfish. This is my first attempt at setting up an aquarium the right way. I'm even going to try to stick to theme-appropriate species and plants.

Here's what we've got so far:

That's an empty tank with 60 pounds of CaribSea Tahitian Moon sand. It took forever for the water to clear, even after I rinsed the substrate about thirty times. I've got some nice hunks of driftwood soaking in a bucket, and I'm on the lookout for cool rocks.

If anyone has any suggestions for fish, let her fly. Remember, I'm trying to stick with an Amazon/South American theme.

Also: Anybody have a tip for taking photos of the tank? I've got a great digital camera, but that blurry, way too blue snap was the best I could make.

Katie217

Superstar Fish
Jul 15, 2006
Florida
I have a Gold Severum in my 33gal, and one would look great in there :)
Allthough people say they will get to large...I still did it and I have the happiest Severum :)

If not, I'd do Angels personally, or some other "tall bodied" cichlid

burtoncb47

Large Fish
Nov 12, 2006
Southern CA
ya like katie said a taller fish ....i also have 2 severums a gold and green i like my green better and think he would look great in an amazon themed tank....but the gold looks really good to like katie said...i would say discus but 38 is a tad bit small for them lol

Feb 10, 2006
Bay Area, CA
A little comment for a cool thread,

I'd scratch the silver dollar idea. They're relatively medium sized fish that school. In 38, it might take up all the space.

I like the angel idea. I'm not going to advise you as to how many angel you can keep (I don't know myself), but they would look great with smaller fish around them.