Plans for community tank, need advice ;)

Allie

New Fish
Aug 25, 2008
NM
I am new to the aquarium hobby, and I have been planning what fish I am eventually going to get in a 20 gallon tank. The community will be tropical, and I have been doing quite a bit of research on all the species, as well as talking to many pet store associates, but continue to find contradictions to everything I've read and heard:confused:. My hope is that I can get some opinions from others more experienced than I with these kinds of fish. Here is my tentative list of what I'd eventually like to have:

3+ Zebra Danios
1 Leopard Danio
3-4 Fancy Guppies
3+ Neon/Black Neon Tetras
1 Bottom feeder
2 Mollys
1 Swordtail
1 Platy
1 Female Betta

Any advice on temperaments, temperature, water turbulence preferences, ph and water hardness, or general advice to a newbie is extremely welcome!

Welcome!! :D

A good guideline when stocking a tank is to go with the "one inch of fish per one gallon of water rule of thumb."

My 20g community tank used to have the following:

3 Swordtails
2 Peppered cories
2 Otos
4 Black neon tetras
2 Ghost shrimp

So I think your list went over the stocking limit.

As for the fish:
-Not sure about danios, never had them before.
-Guppies reproduce really fast, so if you get them, make sure you have males only.
-Make sure you really want tetras. There's lots of different kinds, but I got VERY bored with my black neons...
-A good bottomfeeder would be some kind of cory. But they like to live in groups so you should get at least three.
-I hear mollies get really large.
-Swordtails are really active and also reproduce, but the offspring usually get eaten.
-Not sure about platies, but I think they are similar to swords.