Overloaded my tank... getting cloudy... what do I do? Help ASAP :)

Jan 1, 2010
Canada
I am very new to this aquarium thing... so I did some dumb things!
I have a tank that measures 14 1/4 x 7 1/2 x 9 inches (so 4.2 gallons by my calculations). There is a fake plant and a no fishing sign and about an inch and a half of gravel. The tank previously had been used, and cleaned and put in storage for a couple years before it was given to me for Christmas. I filled the tank, then let it sit for 6 days while I was away. I don't live in a city with aquarium stores, so while I was away I bought fish. I didn't research the capacity, but I talked to the guy at the store and he said that this many fish should be fine. Now I think my tank is overloaded from things I've been reading. The tank is also getting very cloudy, and I put accuclear (if that's what it's called) in it 2x with no results.

In my tank I have:
3 dwarf frogs
3 neon tetras
1 small black moor
1 red cap oranda
1 plecostomus (not sure what kind, but it's under an inch long and skinny)

I have a heater, which is set to about 74 degrees and also a filter, but not sure what kind or how often it filters the water. This is day 4 of having them in the tank. When I brought them home, I put them in the tank in the bag for 20 minutes, added some water to the bag and floated it for 10 mins, then added more water and floated it for another 10 minutes. Then i netted the fish into the tank and added a dose of cycle. To float the bag in the tank I had to empty about 1/3 of the water that I had let sit in the tank for 6 days, so I had to add more water after the fish were in as I didn't think about it and dumped the water. I added tap water conditioner to the water before I put it in the tank though.