I need guppy help...

Feb 4, 2011
Australia
Time for a short story, i think. (will be put in a quote so that you know you don't need to read it):

*GOLDFISH*

I am a yr 12 student in Australia and need to do this thing the new SACE calls a 'Research Project'. Since i have wanted to breed guppies for a LONG time, i thought that this was the perfect excuse to fork out hundreds of dollars to get myself started.
My tank is a 50L (approx. 13.2 Gallons apparently) with a biological filter and a light attached/inbuilt.
I bought just 3 guppies the first time round, one male and 2 females. My the male began to 'grow' a white patch near his dorsal fin. this grew quite a lot and it scared me, as i realized he had managed to become diseased. One of the females i bought was already pregnant (or at least really fat) so i was scared i would loose the male, and a batch of fry.
The non-pregnant-looking female actually was the first to die, followed a few days later by the male. The fat female is still living to this day (5/Feb/2011).
However, she has not birthed once. This concerns me.
I cleaned out the water (took out approx. half of it, let it sit, then filled it up with fresh water of a period of time) and let it stay for a few days.
approximately 2-3 weeks ago, i bought 5 new guppies, 2 males and 3 females (making a total of 6 guppies in the tank)
2 of the 6 have died, one male and one female.
I am left with 4.

I have some questions.

-I have a female who i thought was pregnant (who hasn't dropped fry, but is now a tad thinner) whom i put in a plastic floater tank to drop her fry. She has spent quite a lot of time in this floater tank. would this isolation be the cause of her strange, sometimes aggressive, behavior?

-My surviving male is acting strange, and it started today. He used to chase the females about (mostly the pregnant/fat ones) and breed shamelessly. now as i look at him, he is in one corner of the tank staring at his own reflection. Is he alright?