Pretty new (8 years since last tank) to hobby! Advice welcomed!

May 7, 2012
Hey everyone,

I am pretty new to the fish owning hobby it has been probably 8 years since I last had my tank of Mollies. Well I have wanted to get back into it forever and finally it took a coupon that my girlfriend and I won at bingo to jump start this now hobby I am constantly thinking about *BOUNCINGS ......... Anyway small story to set this up...

We went to the local fish store and decided to put the coupon to good use... turns out it was a pretty useless coupon so we decided to get "Real" fish, none of that 10 cent goldfish stuff. In result, I let her pick out a fish (Gourami), and I got myself a Bala shark. We got a very small tank to start with and set up the tank and had it all going great.

4 days passed and my bala died... sad but o well there are plenty of fish in the sea (pun intended)

Yesterday I decided to screw the stupid crapo tank and take it more seriously. So I got out the 10gal (I know its small) out and washed it, added some funny ornaments, went and bought a filter, more gravel, and some salt stone things, and some liquid stuff that i forget what its called off the top of my head.

Anyway, We got it all set up nice a pretty, and decided to introduce the Gourami to the new tank (now I know that this is a stupid idea without cycling the tank... sorry) Longer story short, about 15 minutes later it had died as well (I think it could have possibly been pregnat as well).

SO I FAIL AND I KNOW IT! I FEEL BAD!

After much research and a nicely prepared tank, I am ready to start a 10gal home for fishies... (I would love to have bigger but space doesn't allow currently).

My girlfriend wants a: Goldfish
My mom wants a: Catfish
I want a: really anything that looks cool + a crab!

Help me out, what other things should I do to make this family work, and what fish are recommended... opinions welcomed. I know I screwed up.

Thanks,
Pilot trying to be a fish man!

Last edited: