Newbie here! Please help me put together a 75G SW setup!

Oct 29, 2005
Hello All. As you can see, I'm new to the forums. I have been reading posts on here for about 2 weeks though (including the stickies) but still would like some specific advise on how to proceed. Any help would be most appreciated!

First, some background. I have a 75G tank w/ stand that has been used for freshwater turtles for the past 3 yrs. They are so big now, I constructed an artificial pond in my backyard to put them in and now what to set up a saltwater tank, a dream I've had for a while now.

Now to the point. Other than the tank itself, I have basically have nothing other than a few nets. I also have a small 10G that I plan on using as a QT tank, that already has a small penguin biowheel 125 on it and a heater. Due to great success with my FLuval 404, which somehow managed to keep these EXTREMELY messy eaters from destroying the tank, I feel the need to get another one since that one will stay with the pond. Again, the Fluv kept that tank virtually spotless so thats why Im thinking of going with that.

I know LR seems to be the way to go, but in my estimate to stock up enough of it to provide adequte filtration will break the bank. I do plan on getting some, slowly but surely, but to begin with I thought a fluval would be sufficient. Any opions would be great! :)

Now let me tell you what Ive been thinking about getting. PLease feel free to chime with either positive or neg opinions as I want to try to do this right....

1) Marineland Penguin 1140 Powerhead (300 gph), which from I gather, is needed for circulation...?

2) SW tests (amm, nitrat,nitrite, & pH)

3) Rena cal 300 W heater (keep in mind my house is normally about 75 deg anywys and I live in central florida...)