10 Gallon Tank Questions

Denther

Large Fish
Feb 26, 2011
USA
Hey all. I have a few questions about possibly getting a 10 gallon tank.

1. How much would a 10 gallon tank with lighting/heating/filteration/deco/fish cost. Go with a kit or buy everything separately?

2. Would a stable and full dresser be able to support a 10 gallon tank?

3. What would be good fish to have in a ten gallon tank?

I don't even know if I'm going to do this and if I did it would not be very soon. I'm also fairly new to fish keeping and not on a huge budget but I would like to get something more than my current 2.5 Gallon tank with a single betta.

Thanks for any and all help!

*DRUMMER*

Denther

Large Fish
Feb 26, 2011
USA
I currently have a 2.5 gallon tank on top of that dresser and have had no problems with it. The wood seems to be sealed and I'm not sure if it's actually wood at all. If it does get wet I just wipe up the water and it's dry. I also have a towel underneath the tank in case water seeps out during feedings. Thanks.

Last edited:

lauraf

Superstar Fish
Jan 1, 2010
Vancouver, British Columbia
1. If you aren't concerned about specialty lighting or other fancy stuff buy a kit. It's way cheaper than buying things separately. Another option is looking at something like craigslist, but then you might get an incomplete setup, etc. As a new fishkeeper, you're probably better to buy the kit from your fish store.
2. If you can sit on your dresser without breaking it, it should support a 10g, no problem.
3. Lots of good community fish for a 10g. Things like guppies, platies, certain tetras, cories, bettas, even aquatic frogs . . . . .
Decide if you are getting the tank. Then ask us about how to get it cycled and ready for fish. Meanwhile research freshwater tropical fish, and see what you like. Ask us again about the fish that you fancy before you buy anything.
Cheers,
Laura

Denther

Large Fish
Feb 26, 2011
USA