Reverse flow under gravel???

Jul 28, 2006
Hi all. Newbie here with a few questions.
I'm starting a new aquarium. it's a 90 gallon that will primarily be a cichlid tank.. For filtration I will be running 2 emperor 400 power filters and an uncergravel filter with two aquaclear 402 (270g/hr) powerheads. I've read alittle bit about the RUGF set-up in which you reverse flow the undergravel filter. Is this worth doing or should I just run the UGF the conventional way??
thanks in advance for all answers.

Seleya

Superstar Fish
Nov 22, 2004
Cape Cod, MA
Visit site
If you're going with cichlids, it is highly unlikely that any of your choices would be suited to a tank with undergravel filtration. Aside from the fact that UGFs have fallen out of favor in the fishkeeping community as better systems have become readily available, cichlids as a general rule simply are much too happy rearranging the substrate, which will unfavorably impact the efficacy of the UGF.

Jul 28, 2006
so would you recommend that I keep at least one powerhead with a sponge filter on it to aerate the water? I bought some pretty small gravel for the tank bottom should I consider sand or mix the sand with the gravel??
thanks for the responses thus far. *thumbsup2

rohnds

Large Fish
Apr 23, 2005
Austin, TX (born NYC)
UGF filter are the best biological filters that has come into the hobby. The UGF should provide more biolgical fileration than both the Emperor 400 combined.

But unfortunately it provide very little mechanical filteration. With 2 powerheads, this should provide enough mechnical.

But the trap many fall into is in taking care of the UGF, i.e. regular maintenance. Unlike your 400, UGF require constant cleaning, removing any debris that might get trapped under the plates. This is the reason many aquarist avoid the UGF. A good circulation under the plate is also important.

Like others have said, If I had a choice (despite my above argument for UGFs), I would go with the 2 400s.